There is a lot of consideration that goes into a divorce. You might wonder how you will equally share your assets or who will get the majority custody of the children. If you and your spouse own other things, like vehicles or businesses together, it can make the divorce process even trickier. You might also wonder how much the process of divorce itself will cost.
Here are just a few of the costs that you can expect when filing a divorce in the state of New Jersey.
What Fees are Present When Going Through a Divorce?
In addition to the division of all assets, both spouses will also need to consider the costs of the divorce process itself. A divorce often includes the following fees:
- Legal fees (both sides)
- Filing fees
- Expert witness fees
- Business appraiser fees
It is difficult to determine the exact cost that you can expect to pay for a divorce, because it depends on many factors. For example, a couple with no children or shared assets will generally have a simple divorce, with minimal court dates or legal needs. However, a couple who disagrees when it comes to child custody or how to fairly divide the assets, may rack up more legal fees. The court may order numerous court dates, which means more legal representation hours. There may be a need for expert witnesses, like childcare witnesses or business appraisers, to determine the value of a shared business.
How Much Do Lawyers Charge for a Divorce, On Average?
Most lawyers charge by the hour, but that fee can vary significantly. In New Jersey, hourly fees tend to range between $100-$300 per hour, depending on the details of the case. Of course, the best way to get an accurate estimate is to discuss the details of your case with a lawyer.
Important Considerations Regarding New Jersey Divorce Cases
Your lawyer will help you determine the best strategy to take, keeping costs in mind, while also looking out for the best interest of everyone involved. A few important considerations to keep in mind include:
- It may be possible to seek compensation of court fees from your ex-spouse
- Internal mediation can reduce legal fees for everyone involved
- You must live in the state in which you are filing for divorce
- One spouse must first serve the other with divorce papers to begin the process
The state of New Jersey requires both spouses to live in the state for a minimum of one year before filing for divorce through the court system. The New Jersey court system also has filing requirements and these administrative fees can vary. You can find a full list of required fees through the New Jersey court system or by talking with a divorce lawyer.
Reach out to an Experienced Divorce Lawyer
Divorces are never easy. You are forced to divide everything that you own and have built over the last few years. Disagreements are expected, but with the right legal representation, you can find a solution that is fair and affordable. Reach out to an experienced divorce lawyer today to protect your best interests.
Contact a Mt. Laurel Family Law Attorney for a Consultation About Your Divorce in New Jersey Today
If you are thinking about filing for divorce, or if you have already started the divorce process and are dealing with another matter such as child custody, child support, or division of assets, you need to speak with a qualified attorney. The New Jersey family law attorneys at Cordy Hartman, LLC represent clients throughout the state, including Mt. Laurel, Collingswood, Cherry Hill, and Haddonfield. We understand how challenging this time can be for you, which is why we will fight hard to protect your interests, and the interests of your loved ones, throughout the legal process. Call us at (856) 492-8711 or fill out our confidential contact form to schedule a consultation. We have an office conveniently located at 505 S Lenola Rd, Suite 224, Moorestown, NJ 08057.
The articles on this blog are for informative purposes only and are no substitute for legal advice or an attorney-client relationship. If you are seeking legal advice, please contact our law firm directly.